professionals on pot

yomama

Database Administrator here. If I didn't smoke I would choke all of my clients out and probably have quit my job by now.

It's rough being an IT firefighter, which is what my job basically boils down to at the end of the day. If the database(s) are running smooth, then everything is great. It's when they break and 's hitting the fan that makes it stressful as all hell, so I toke... often.

The being unable to concentrate I would partly blame on the weed, but also because the concepts were new. I can DBA and get in the zone, and have been doing it for 4 years at the same company, so I'm very comfortable.

I'm a daily user, so I would say about an hour after I smoke the effects start to wane. That is going to depend on your tolerance there, more than anything.

[–]vvf[S] 2 points 1 year ago 

That's what I think it is for me. I'm still new to developing software on my own without direction. I just couldn't do it while stoned. Although I'm getting the hang of it now.

My degree focused on natural language processing as well. So I bought a comp ling book and tried to read it high and it was basically gibberish. I came back to it a couple weeks clean and...still gibberish actually.

[–]imnotgoatman 5 points 1 year ago 

I'm a programmer (no Engineering degree nor fancy position name, sadly) and have been smoking for more than 2 years now. Started smoking occasionally, mostly for fun, but have been smoking 3-5 times a week in the past four months.

I try to keep it responsibly, but I don't think it has yet affected my career negatively.

It has affected it positively, I may say. I'm the kind of self-taught guy that will spend weeks on unfruitful projects just to grok something, and weed fits perfectly in this kind of scenario. I feel like I can work as much as I want and still be able to relax in the end of the day after some tokes, watching some TPB or listening to music.