Any runners here?

tennisluvr

I just got back into running after a break of a few years, I regularly play tennis and so have the endurance but was lacking the cadence and rhythm(breathing) to run long distances(3 miles and above). I was more into Sprints and short distance track running in my school days so I am not very good at long distance running. 

I was able to run 2 miles which is my goal today after a long time, but instead of running it at a steady pace I used a HIIT way to run the distance. So I would run 400 meters as fast as i could, walk and catch my breath, then run again etc till I finished my goal of 2 miles. 

If there are any runners on this forum, could you advise me on how I can get to doing a 2 mile run consistently without resorting to HIIT and rather pace myself at a steady rhythm. Just looking for tips etc. 

Just increase your mileage not more than 10% every week, and alternate between sprints and long runs. So weekdays do short runs and alternate your speed. Weekends go for a long run at a manageable pace.

When I signed up for a tough Mudder (10 mile obstacle course run) I couldn’t even run 1 mile without stopping. But I slowly increased my mileage by 1 mile every weekend. So alaa few weeks Ki finished TM, then did a half-marathon and then a Marathon. Take it slowly!

do not do a hiit. you dont want to hurt yourself by doing so hiit in running..not advisable really 

rather put your speed to low like around 5.5 and focus. the target would be 10 mins a mile, but atleast you'd end uo 0.85 per 10 mins...

make sure to wear knee braces or straps..we have to make sure to not hurt those ankles and knees..let me know if you need any info. i'd be glad to help

:)

5 minutes ago, Peter123 said:

do not do a hiit. you dont want to hurt yourself by doing so hiit in running..not advisable really 

rather put your speed to low like around 5.5 and focus. the target would be 10 mins a mile, but atleast you'd end uo 0.85 per 10 mins...