Am I more than my genes? Faith, identity, and DNA

Beardman

PRAVEEN SETHUPATHY
CORNELL UNIVERSITY

I’m a genetics professor with a Hindu background, Indian ancestry, American citizenship, and Christian beliefs.  Am I more than my genes? Absolutely. And, I believe, so are you. I hope…

I’m a genetics professor with a Hindu background, Indian ancestry, American citizenship, and Christian beliefs.  Am I more than my genes? Absolutely. And, I believe, so are you. I hope you find in my story the encouragement to wrestle with the hard questions of life, and not to be satisfied with easy answers that do not reach into the depths of who we are and why we’re here.

Just genes?

The word “genome” suggests to many that our DNA is simply a collection of genes from end-to-end, like books on a bookshelf. But it turns out that large regions of our DNA do not encode genes. Some once called these regions “junk DNA.” But this was a mistake.** More recently, they have been referred to as the “dark matter” of our genome. But what was once dark is slowly coming to light, and what was once junk is being revealed as treasure. The genome is filled with what we call “control elements” that act like switches or rheostats, dialing the activation of nearby genes up and down based on whatever is needed in a particular cell. An increasing number of devastating complex diseases, such as cancer, diabetes, and heart disease, can often be traced back, in part, to these rheostats not working properly. What’s more, environmental variables – like diet – can influence the way that genes and their rheostats work, thereby altering genome function and cell behavior, without making changes to the underlying DNA sequence at all. So, we cannot reduce an individual to a set of genes, or even an entire DNA sequence, rheostats and all, because how that DNA works depends, at least in part, on the environment as well.

Beyond human DNA